Seymour Public Schools

AWARDS ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES



April 29, 2014 Seymour Middle School 7:00 p.m.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Mort Conlan, Chairman

Gene Coppola
Regina Fitzgerald
Pallavi Kasturi
Yashu Putorti
Suzanne Rafferty
Zach Sirowich
Christine Syriac

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE: Lee-Ann Dauerty, Board Clerk

I. CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Conlon called the meeting to order with the Pledge of Allegiance at 7:04 p.m.

II. DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

A. Review Nomination Forms and Select Recipients

The committee members reviewed the nominations that were received for each award. As has been the practice in the past, paper ballots were distributed to the committee members so they could vote for their choice for each award.

As a result of the voting for the David A. Brumer Excellence in Education Award, Mr. Peter Kubik was selected as the recipient this year.

As a result of the voting for the John J. Gallagher Memorial Athletic Award, Mr. Jamie Yakushewich was selected as the recipient this year.

As a result of the voting for the Vincentena Kobasa Excellence in Teaching Award, Mr. Bruce Deming was selected as the recipient this year.

As a result of the voting for the Thomas J. Petruny Memorial Education and Environment Award, Mr. Sam Bradshaw was selected as the recipient this year.

The committee was advised that the nominees' names should be kept confidential until after the Board of Education approved the selections. This will be on the agenda for the May 5 meeting.

2. Discussion of next year's Awards Advisory Committee members

Mr. Conlan reviewed the committee members and confirmed:

Both student representatives are seniors and would not return as representatives next year. Mr. Zack Sirowich volunteered to let Mr. Lungarini know new representatives will need to be chosen. The committee suggested a Junior and a Senior sit on the committee each year. The current members are: Mort Conlon, Eugene Coppola, Terri Ferrara, Regina Fitzgerald, Yashu Putorti, Fred Stanek, Donna Tomas.

3. Chairman's Report

None

4. Superintendent's Report

None

MOTION: (Mr. Putorti/sec., Mr. Conlon) to adjourn the meeting

SO VOTED

AFFIRMATIVE: Mr. Conlan, Mr. Coppola, Ms. Fitzgerald, Ms. Kasturi, Mr. Putorti, Ms. Rafferty, Mr. Sirowich

The meeting adjourned at 7:38 p.m.

Submitted by: Lee-Ann Dauerty Board Clerk