Seymour Public Schools

AWARDS COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES



May 8, 2013 Central Office 6:30 p.m.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Mort Conlan, Chairman

Gene Coppola Regina Fitzgerald Pallavi Kasturi Yashu Putorti Zach Sirowich Fred Stanek Christine Syriac

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE: Lee-Ann Dauerty, Board Clerk

I. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting began at 6:32.

1. Review nominations forms and select recipients for Brumer, Gallagher, Kobasa, and Petruny Awards.

The committee members reviewed the nominations that were received for each award. There was a brief discussion on the lack of nominations received and what we might be able to do next year to get more people involved. Mr. Stanek reminded the committee that they could nominate for the awards during this meeting.

As has been the practice in the past, paper ballots were distributed to the committee members so they could vote for their choice for each award.

As a result of the voting for the David A. Brumer Excellence in Education Award, Mr. Rich Kearns was selected as the recipient this year.

As a result of the voting for the John J. Gallagher Memorial Athletic Award, Mr. Paul Sponheimer was selected as the recipient this year.

As a result of the voting for the Thomas J. Petruny Memorial Education and Environment Award, Miss Melanie Danka was selected as the recipient this year.

As a result of a tie in the voting for the Vincentena Kobasa Excellence in Teaching Award, Ms. Elaine Roche and Ms. Allison Cunningham were selected as co recipients this year.

2. Discussion of next year's Awards Advisory Committee members

Mr. Conlan reviewed the committee members and confirmed:

Both student representatives were juniors and would return as representatives next year.

Terri Ferrara (MS, HS)

Mort Conlan (HS)

Regina Fitzgerald (MS, HS)

Donna Tomas (BS)

Vacant (CLS) – need representation. Ms. Fitzgerald volunteered to approach the CLS PTA to find a representative for this school.

Mr. Conlan asked Mr. Stanek to confirm the requirement to have a representative from each school and he confirmed that this has been the practice but not a policy. He also noted that in addition to a representative from each school, we need a board member, the board chairman, and a member from the Board of Selectman although this has not been done in recent years.

3. Chairman's Report

Mr. Conlan thanked the members of the committee for their time and dedication to the process of selecting the awards recipients. He said the committee needs to come up with ideas on how we can get more participation in the nomination process. Mr. Conlan said he would contact Donna Tomas to see if she was interested in continuing on the committee next year. Mr. Stanek reminded the committee members that they can make nominations and should think about coming to next year's meeting with a nomination in mind. Mr. Conlan said he thought maybe members could submit their nominations before the meeting so there would not be an uneven playing field when discussing nominations. He also asked if the nominee for the Gallagher Award had to be a volunteer and Mr. Stanek confirmed that it did not have to be a volunteer; it could be a staff member or even a fan of Seymour sports.

4. Superintendent's Report

Mrs. Syriac said that in an effort to boost participation, she had requested Mrs. Hamad and Mr. Lungarini approach the Student Council in their respective schools which they did. In addition, Mrs. Syriac shared Mr. Lungarini's idea for next year which was to have the marketing class produce a commercial to share with their classmates. He said he finds if the information comes from their peers it sometimes produces a more favorable response. The committee thought this was a good idea.

MOTION: (Ms. Fitzgerald/sec., Mr. Coppola) to adjourn the meeting

SO VOTED

AFFIRMATIVE: Mr. Conlan, Mr. Coppola, Ms. Fitzgerald, Ms. Kasturi, Mr. Putorti, Mr. Sirowich, Mr. Stanek

The meeting adjourned at 7:07 p.m.

Submitted by: Lee-Ann Dauerty Board Clerk