

## AWARDS COMMITTEE

MINUTES

April 26, 2012 Central Office 7:00 p.m.

**THOSE IN ATTENDANCE:** Ashley Blackwell, Mallory Briggs, Mort Conlan, Regina Fitzgerald, Suzanne Garman, Fred Stanek, Yashu Putorti, Christine Syriac

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 P.M.

1. Review nominations forms and select recipients for Brumer, Gallagher, Kobasa, and Petruny Awards

Members of the committee may submit from the floor. Mr. Stanek submitted Jay Gesek for the John Gallagher Award. Don Smith was nominated for the David Brumer Award.

**MOTION:** (Mr. Stanek/sec., Ms. Garman) to recommend to the full Board of Education that Donald Smith be named the 2012 recipient of the David A. Brumer Award

SO VOTED

**AFFIRMATIVE:** Ms. Blackwell, Ms. Briggs, Mr. Conlan, Ms. Fitzgerald, Ms. Garman, Mr. Stanek, Mr. Putorti

**MOTION:** (Mr. Putorti/sec., Ms. Garman) to recommend to the full Board of Education that Jay Gesek be named the 2012 recipient of the John J. Gallagher Award

SO VOTED

**AFFIRMATIVE:** Ms. Blackwell, Ms. Briggs, Mr. Conlan, Ms. Fitzgerald, Ms. Garman, Mr. Stanek, Mr. Putorti

MOTION: (Mr. Putorti/sec., Ms. Garman) to recommend to the full Board of Education that Umma Minhaz be named the 2012 recipient of the Thomas J. Petruny Memorial Education and Environment Award

SO VOTED

**AFFIRMATIVE:** Ms. Blackwell, Ms. Briggs, Mr. Conlan, Ms. Fitzgerald, Ms. Garman, Mr. Stanek, Mr. Putorti

After review and discussion of all those nominated, the committee chose to recommend that Michael Milia, Lee Angelosek, and Stephanie Shelinsky be the recipients of the 2012 Kobasa Award.

**MOTION:** (Mr. Putorti/sec., Ms. Garman) to recommend to the full Board of Education that Michael Milia be named the 2012 recipient of the Vincentena Kobasa Award for the elementary level, Lee Angelosek be named the 2012 recipient of the Vincentena Kobasa Award for the middle school level, and Stephanie Shelinsky be named the 2012 recipient of the Vincentena Kobasa Award for the high school level

SO VOTED

**AFFIRMATIVE:** Ms. Blackwell, Ms. Briggs, Mr. Conlan, Ms. Fitzgerald, Ms. Garman, Mr. Stanek, Mr. Putorti

## 2. Discussion of next year's Awards Advisory Committee members

- One representative from Chatfield-LoPresti School Terri Ferrara
- Middle School representative will remain Mort Conlan
- One member at large Eugene Coppola
- Fred Stanek will continue as the Board of Education representative
- Will need to find a new representative for Bungay if Donna Tomas decides to not to continue next year
- Will need two new student representatives from the high school

## 3. Chairman's Report

**MOTION:** (Mr. Stanek) to make a recommendation to the full Board of Education to request one recipient for the Kobasa Award

SO VOTED

**AFFIRMATIVE:** Ms. Blackwell, Ms. Briggs, Mr. Conlan, Ms. Fitzgerald, Ms. Garman, Mr. Stanek, Mr. Putorti

**MOTION:** (Mr. Conlan/sec., Ms. Garman) to rescind the previous motion and put in on the agenda for discussion in the fall

SO VOTED

**AFFIRMATIVE:** Ms. Blackwell, Ms. Briggs, Mr. Conlan, Ms. Fitzgerald, Ms. Garman, Mr. Stanek, Mr. Putorti

## 4. Superintendent's Report

None

The meeting was adjourned at 7:50 p.m.

Submitted by: Christine Syriac