## Seymour Board of Education Awards Committee

Minutes April 7, 2010 Central Office 7:30 p.m.

Those in attendance:

Mort Conlan, Terri Lynn Ferrara, Regina Fitzgerald, Kristanna Kassey, MaryAnne Mascolo, Fred Stanek, Laura Stec, Ed Strumello

The meeting was called to order at 7:30 p.m.

Laura Stec, Chair opened the meeting. The nominations that were received for the Brumer, Gallagher, Kobasa, and Petruny Awards were reviewed and the committee voted on the award winners. A recipient was chosen for the Brumer, Gallagher, and Kobasa Awards These recipients will be announced at the June 7, 2010 Open Forum meeting.

A discussion took place regarding how to improve the publicity on these awards. All local papers receive a press release, all school and district websites post the information, hard copies of the forms are placed at all schools, town hall, and the library. Additionally, individuals this year had the ability to do their nominations on line. The committee decided to convene a meeting in the fall to discuss possible revisions of the awards and forms and try to develop a plan to garner more interest and response from the public.

MOTION: (Stanek/Stec) to adjourn the meeting

SO VOTED

AFFIRMATIVE: Mort Conlan, Terri Lynn Ferrara, Regina Fitzgerald, Kristanna Kassey, Fred Stanek, Laura Stec, Ed Strumello

The meeting adjourned at 8:20 p.m.

Submitted by: MaryAnne Mascolo