Seymour Board of Education Awards Committee

Minutes January 26, 2010 Central Office 7:00 p.m.

Those in attendance:

Mort Conlan, Laura Stec, Regina Fitzgerald, Kristanna Kassey, Fred Stanek, Suzanne Garman, Terri Lynn Ferrara, Gene Coppola, MaryAnne Mascolo

The meeting was called to order at 7:02 p.m.

Laura Stec, Chair opened the meeting. Discussion ensued regarding the various ways that the committee with solicit nominations from the awards. The nomination forms will be posted on the District webpage.

The Vincentena Kobasa Award will be removed from the nomination form and the Thomas Petruny award information will be added.

MaryAnne will check as to the feasibility of sending the nomination forms out through Edline as well as investigating the possibility of having the seniors fill out the Kobasa Award nomination form on line.

Kristianne Kassey suggested that we work through the high school advisory groups to give clear instructions regarding the Kobasa Award to the seniors. Kristianne and Ms. Mascolo will meet with Mrs. Goodrich in order to make plans.

Timelines:

- The nomination forms will be out by March 1
- Last day for submission of the nomination forms will be April 1
- The committee will meet again on April 8, 2010 Central Office at 7:00p.m.

Lee-Ann Dauerty will retype the press release adding a new section for the Petruny award.

MOTION: (Coppola/Stanek) to adjourn the meeting

SO VOTED

AFFIRMATIVE: Mort Conlan, Laura Stec, Regina Fitzgerald, Kristanna Kassey, Fred Stanek, Suzanne Garman, Terri Lynn Ferrara, Gene Coppola,

The meeting adjourned at 7:31 p.m.

Submitted by: MaryAnne Mascolo