## SEYMOUR BOARD OF EDUCATION Advisory Awards Committee

## **Minutes**

Monday, May 12, 2008 Central Office 7:00 p.m.

Those in attendance: Bruce Baker, Kara Baldwin, Mortimer Conlan, Eugene Coppola, Peter Durante, Suzanne Garman, Kathy Matthew, Fred Stanek Laura Stec, Maureen Wilhelmy and MaryAnne Mascolo

Meeting called to order at 7:00 p.m. by the chair of the committee, Mrs. Laura Stec.

MaryAnne Mascolo reviewed the means of distribution of the nomination forms. The forms were posted on the district website, individual school websites, school newsletters and the district newsletter. Hard copies were also distributed to the all schools inclusive of Central Office, the town hall, the library, the recreation department and the senior center. The high school participation in the nomination of candidates for the Kobasa Award did not go according to plan but changes will be made next year to remedy the miscommunication.

Recommendations for improvement for next are as follows:

- > A line for the name of the person submitting the recommendation
- > The ability to fill out the forms on line
- Written directions to the high school staff/students

The nomination packages were handed out and read by the committee members. A great deal of thoughtful discussion took place regarding the nominees for each award. After discussion the committee voted on the nominees for the individual awards.

The recipients of the Brumer Award are Carrie Hunnicutt and Jennifer Harkey.

The recipient of the Gallagher Award is Ray Necio.

The recipients of the Kobasa Awards are:

Elementary – Debbie Baldarelli Middle School – Basilla Stevens High School – Caroline Sweeney

Mr. Stanek asked that the awards recipients be presented to the full Board of Education for ratification

The meeting was adjourned at 8:16 p.m.

Submitted by: MaryAnne Mascolo