Seymour Public Library Board of Directors

Minutes from the Regular meeting – February 16, 2012

In attendance: Loreen Coe, Nancy Cretella, Joyce Koslowski, Dianna Koskelowski, Steven Kulas, Pauline Lounsbury, Diane Sosnovich, Paul Thompson and Carol Ralston, Library Director

Chair, Joyce Koslowski called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm. Loreen Coe led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Approval of the Minutes from the January 19 meeting — Motion to accept: Paul Thompson; Second: Loreen Coe 4-4 Abstain: Diane Sosnovich, Loreen Coe, Pauline Lounsbury and Steven Kulas

Treasurer's Report for January – Motion to accept: Steve Kulas; Second; Diane Sosnovich. 8-0-0

Librarian's report: Carol reported that the library is now heating with gas. Roger Foster will estimate the amount of oil that remains in the library underground tank and the library will report this figure to the town. The Board welcomes Dianna Koskelowski, our new member of the board appointed to serve out the term of Alfred Yangovane who resigned because of a scheduling conflict.

The Friends of the Seymour Library would like to construct more shelving in the Friends area to accommodate the increasing flow of books arriving for the sales. First Selectman, Kurt Miller has contacted the town lawyers for a document that will enable the Friends to move ahead with this project.

Carol announced that the budget hearing for the FY 2013 library request will be held on Wednesday, February 29 at 7:00 pm.. She looks forward to having board members present to support the request. The library is now on Facebook along with the town. Carol mentioned that she hopes lots of folks will "like" us.

## **New Business**

Carol presented the current materials selection policy to the board and requested that members review it and suggest any changes. A subcommittee was formed. Nancy Cretella, Diane Sosnovich and Paul Thompson will come back to the board with recommendations.

Materials request: The board discussed the materials expenditure for February - \$4,216.00 Motion to approve: Steve Kulas. Second: Pauline Lounsbury 8-0-0

Carol shared Cheryl Abbott's letter of resignation as Board Recording Secretary. Board members expressed regret that she is unable to continue with us.

Motion to adjourn: Sreven Kulas; Second: Diane Sosnovich.

Meeting adjourned at 7:42 p.m.

The next meeting of the board will be on March 15, 2012.

Respectfully submitted, Loreen Coe, Interim Recording Secretary