Seymour Planning & Zoning Commission

Regular Meeting Minutes August 13, 2009 Norma Drummer Room, Town Hall

Members Present:	Cliff Strumello, Bill Paecht, Al Yagovane
Members Absent:	Walt Birdsell, Dan DellaVolpe
Others Present:	Bob Looker, Town Planner, Art Baldwin, ZEO

The meeting was called to order at 7:30 p.m. by Chairman Cliff Strumello.

1. Proposed Zone Changes, Seymour Economic Development Commission

Chm. Strumello stated that the public hearing was held last month. He stated that the Commission will only act on certain zone changes at this time.

MOTION: Yagovane/Paecht - Manufacturing activities in both the Town and the region have declined, particularly in locations in and proven to be obsolete in terms on site and building characteristics. The Master Economic Development Plan prepared for the Economic Development Commission recommends that the zoning of such sites be changed to C-2 which zone permits a range of uses more appropriate to a central location. Existing industrial uses may continue as legally non-conforming pending a re-use of such sites. Recent trends have shown a successful commercial expansion along Route 67.

> Therefore the Seymour Planning and Zoning Commission hereby approves the following proposed zone changes to be effective September 1, 2009:

1. Thep roperty at 109 River Street to be changed from the present LI-1 to the C-2 General Commercial District.

2. The properties at 79 Main Street and 53 DeForest Street to be changed from the present GI-2 to the C-2 General Commercial District.

3. The property at 182 North Street to be changed from the present CI-2 to the C-2 General Commercial District.

4. The property at 53 New Haven Road to be changed from the present R-18 to the C-2 General Commercial District.

5. The property at 69 New Haven Road to be changed from the present R-18 to the C-2 General Commercial District.

A map showing the areas of the proposed zone changes is attached In Favor: Strumello, Paecht, Yagovane Motion Carried 3-0.

Seymour Planning & Zoning Commission

Regular Meeting Minutes August 13, 2009 Norma Drummer Room, Town Hall

2. Acceptance of Aspen Lane.

Chm. Strumello stated that a report was received from Nafis & Young regarding the acceptance of Aspen Lane with a favorable recommendation. Chm. Strumello explained that the Commission will be recommending to the Board of Selectmen that the road be accepted.

MOTION: Paecht/Yagovane recommend to the Board of Selectmen the acceptance of Aspen Road into the town road system. In Favor: Strumello, Paecht, Yagovane Motion Carried 3-0.

3. Change of Non-Conforming Use, 10 New Street

Chm. Strumello stated that this is the location of the former Brass Rail restaurant and there have been some issues with the neighbors. Ed Scanzillo, owner of the property stated that he wants to change the use back to a residential one. He would like to change the first floor back into an apartment.

MOTION: Paecht/Yagovane, The Seymour Planning and Zoning Commission hereby approves a proposed change in the non-conforming use of the first floor of the building at 10 New Street from a tavern to a third apartment unit. It is the finding of the Commission that this change results in a lesser degree of non-conformity, pursuant to Section 11.5, Seymour Zoning Regulations. In Favor: Strumello, Paecht, Yagovane Motion Carried 3-0.

4. Zoning Enforcement

The Commission reviewed Mr. Baldwin's report.

5. Minutes Public Hearing and Regular Meeting - 07/09/09

- MOTION: Paecht/Yagovane to approve the minutes of the 07/09/09 public hearing. In Favor: Strumello, Paecht, Yagovane Motion Carried 3-0
- MOTION: Paecht/Yagovane to approve the minutes of the 07/09/09 regular meeting. In Favor: Strumello, Paecht, Yagovane Motion Carried 3-0

Seymour Planning & Zoning Commission

Regular Meeting Minutes August 13, 2009 Norma Drummer Room, Town Hall

MOTION: Paecht/Yagovane to adjourn the meeting. In Favor: Strumello, Paecht, Yagovane Motion Carried 3-0.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:55 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Manyanne Aufulio Maryanne DeTullio, Rec. Secretary