Seymour Board of Education



AWARDS COMMITTEE MINUTES

February 23, 2015 Chatfield-LoPresti School Conference Room 7:00 p.m.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Mortimer Conlon, SHS Representative

Terri Ferrara, SMS Representative

Yashu Putorti Fred Stanek

Emily Curina, Student Representative Scott Walkinshaw, Student Representative

Christine Syriac, Superintendent

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE: Pat Boyle, Board Clerk

I. CALL TO ORDER

A. Mr. Walkinshaw led the committee in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance at 7:30 p.m.

II. ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON

Mr. Conlon was nominated to chair the Awards Committee. There were no further nominations.

MOTION: (Mr. Putorti /sec., Mr. Stanek) to appoint Mr. Conlon as the Chairman of the Awards Committee.

SO VOTED

AFFIRMATIVE: Mr. Conlon, Ms. Ferrara, Mr. Putorti, Mr. Stanek, Ms. Curina, Ms. Walkinshaw, Mrs. Syriac.

III. REPORTS AND INFORMATION

A. Information and Recommended Action

- 1. Review and recommendation of the Nomination Process and Forms for Each Award Mr. Conlon said there are three main awards given each year and asked Mr. Stanek to tell the committee about each person that have awards named in their honor. Mr. Stanek stated that Ms. Kobasa was a long time Seymour educator, who dedicated her life to the students in Seymour. Mr. Gallagher was known as Seymour's biggest fan. He lived to be 100 years old and attended most home games. Mr. Brumer was the Chairman of the Board of Education from 1993-1998 when he passed away. He was instrumental in moving the district forward especially in regard to technology. Mr. Conlon asked the student representatives to come up with ideas on how to get students to nominate teachers who have had an impact on their lives. Mr. Putorti told the students that they did not need to write pages to nominate a teacher, just a paragraph or two. Mr. Stanek thought it would be a good idea if more student council members participated. Mr. Walkinshaw said there are now over 30 student council members. He felt this should make it easier to get them to nominate teachers.
- Schedule Date(s) for Submission of Nomination Forms for Each Award
 The next meeting has been scheduled for Tuesday, April 21, 2015 at 7:00 p.m. (Place to be
 determined.) At the April meeting, all nominations will be reviewed and recipients selected.
 Nominations should be turned in between March 16, 2015 April 20, 2015. Mrs. Dauerty,
 Administrative Assistant to Mrs. Syriac, will forward the nominations to the committee members for
 review.

3. Publicity of Awards

Mrs. Dauerty will issue a press release. Mr. Putorti will look at posting the nomination process on social media. This will include Facebook, ED-line, PTA websites, and an e-blast.

4. Committee Member Changes

The committee has added two new student representatives, Emily Curina and Scott Walkinshaw. They would like to add a representative from each of the elementary schools as well. Ms. Ferrara and Mr. Conlon will ask parents at both elementary schools if they would like to join the committee. Any recommendations will be brought before the full board at the next available meeting.

B. Reports

1. Chairman's Report

None

2. Superintendent's Report

None

IV. ADJOURNMENT

MOTION: (Mr. Putorti /sec., Mr. Stanek.) to adjourn the meeting

SO VOTED

AFFIRMATIVE: Mr. Conlon, Ms. Ferrara, Mr. Putorti, Mr. Stanek, Ms. Curina, Ms. Walkinshaw, Mrs. Syriac.

The meeting adjourned at 7:21 p.m.

Submitted by: Pat Boyle