Seymour Board of Education

COMMITTEE MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE:

AWARDS ADVISORY COMMITTEE MINUTES

April 25, 2016 Central Office 7:00 p.m.

Mortimer Conlan, Chairman

Emily Curina, Student Rep.

Jennifer Ferreira Regina Fitzgerald Tara Petrino Yashu Putorti Fred Stanek Christine Syriac

Scott Walkinshaw, Student Rep

COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT: Eugene Coppola

Terri Ferrara Sue Rafferty

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE:

Christine Syriac, Superintendent of Schools

Vonda Tencza, Associate Superintendent

Lee-Ann Dauerty, Board Clerk

I. CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Conlan called the meeting to order with the Pledge of Allegiance at 7:00 p.m.

II. DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

A. Review Nomination Forms and Select Recipients

The nomination forms were shared with the committee and Mrs. Syriac did a brief overview of them. After everyone had a chance to review each nomination, Mr. Conlan started the process of choosing the recipient for each award.

As a result of the voting for the David A. Brumer Excellence in Education Award, Mr. Ernie DiStasi was selected as the recipient for 2015-16.

As a result of the voting for the John J. Gallagher Memorial Athletic Award, Mr. Antonio Ciccione was selected as the recipient for 2015-16.

As a result of the voting for the Vincentena Kobasa Excellence in Teaching Award, Ms. Christine Kaszeta was selected as the recipient for 2015-16.

As a result of the voting for the Thomas J. Petruny Memorial Education and Environment Award, Mr. Zachary Goodrich was selected as the recipient for 2015-16.

The committee was advised that the nominees' names should be kept confidential until after the Board of Education approved the selections at the May 2 Board of Education meeting. The awards presentations will be on June 6 at Seymour High School and all are welcome to attend.

B. Discussion of Next Year's Awards Advisory Committee members

Ms. Regina Fitzgerald notified the committee that this will be her last meeting. The committee thanked her for her service. The committee reviewed the remaining members and determined a replacement will be needed to represent Chatfield-LoPresti School.



III. INFORMATION AND REPORTS

A. Reports

- 1. Chairman's Report
 - None
- 2. Superintendent's Report
 - None

IV. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting ended at 7:27 pm

Submitted by: Lee-Ann Dauerty Board Clerk