Seymour Board of Education

AWARDS ADVISORY COMMITTEE AGENDA

April 25, 2017 Central Office 7:00 p.m.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE:

Mort Conlan, Chairman

Eugene Coppola

Terri Ferrara Tara Petrino

Yashu Putorti

COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT:

David Brezina Jennifer Ferreira Melyssa Gagliardi Suzanne Rafferty

Fred Stanek

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE:

Christine Syriac, Superintendent of Schools

Lee-Ann Dauerty, Board Clerk

I. CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Conlan called the meeting to order with the Pledge of Allegiance 7:04 p.m.

II. DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

A. Review Nomination Forms and Select Recipients

Information on each nomination was shared with the committee and Mr. Conlan asked the committee members to take the time to review the information before the selection process begins

- David A. Brumer Excellence in Education Award
 After a brief discussion, the committee chose Cynthia Dion as the 2017 recipient of the David A. Brumer Excellence in Education Award
- 2. John J. Gallagher Memorial Athletic Award

The 2017 John J. Gallagher Memorial Athletic Award will be presented to Joseph Carrafiello.

3. Vincentena Kobasa Excellence in Teaching Award

Christopher Cummings will be the 2017 recipient of the Vincentena Kobasa Award.

- 4. Thomas J. Petruny Memorial Education and Environmental Award
 After reviewing the nominations for the Thomas J. Petruny Memorial Education and Environmental Award, the
 committee selected Madelynn Orosz as the 2017 recipient
- B. Discussion of Next Year's Awards Advisory Committee members

Ms. Tara Petrino will contact a parent to see if there is interest in sitting on this committee next year. Mr. Mort Conlan expressed his desire to continue his participating on this committee and Mr. Putorti noted that he would not be on the committee next year as he is stepping down from the Board of Education when his term ends.

III. INFORMATION AND REPORTS

A. Reports

2.

1. Chairman's Report

None

Superintendent's Report

None

IV. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 7:21 pm

Submitted by: Lee-Ann Dauerty, Board Clerk

OWN CLERK'S OFFICE