Seymour Board of Education

REGULAR MEETING AGENDA

April 2 2018 Bungay School 7:30 pm

l.



CALL TO ORDER

A. Pledge of Allegiance

II. BOARD AND ADMINISTRATIVE COMMUNICATIONS

- A. Recognitions
 - Gift to Board of Education Mike Wilson
 - Thank you to all the people who volunteered and assisted in the root of the Wizard of Oz at Seymour High School: Joe Adams, Abigail Andrade, Heather Brown, Paus Christi, Danielle Campbell, Lisa Cheney, Stephanie Ciccone, Abby Damke, Taylor Dauphinais Ashiev Decachi, Joanne Dunne, Kaitlyn Esposito, Michelle Esteves Pinho, Nicole Fearon, Sophia Fioretti, Llyss Gagliardi, Marisa Henry, Darlene Keeffe, Jeehyun Kim, Gina Kindt, Tyler Kinnie, Courtney Leahy, Kait Loffredo, John McCasland, Jada Mirabelle, Jennifer Monaco, Stephanie Mordowanec, Alexandria Courtney Parsons, Anna Peel, Stephanie Perez, Joe Perrucci, James Rafferty, Mireli Ramos, Branna Richard Brandt Schneider, Maya Sepulveda, Stefanie Slie, Emily Spear, June Tema, Bella Torri, Dibanda Peper, Levan Webb, Nicole Yustin, and Brianna Zanchetti.
 - Emily Spear, June Tema, Bella Torri, Diby seepch, avan Webb, Nicole Yustin, and Brianna Zanchetti.

 3. Chatfield-LoPresti School is again a School school as a School of Distinction for being a school in the top 10% of points earned for academic growth in its High Needs student group for the second year in a row! The High Needs group is computed of students who may receive free or reduced lunch, may be students with disabilities, or are English and the learners. With the release of the 2016-17 Next Generation Accountability System results, CLS that Deform 53 schools to be recognized in this category! Congratulations to the staff and students of Chatgard Laboration.
 - 4. Our Future Biginess Leaders represented Seymour very well at Friday's conference. Out of 12 students attending, half of the laced well enough in their competitive events to be invited to compete in the national leadership conference in June. If you see these students, please congratulate them each on a job very well done: It viling Karrowski 5th place in Agribusiness, Cody Guillette 3rd place in Business Calculations, Rhea karrowski 3rd place in Introduction to Public Speaking, Zana Imetovski 2rd place in Introduction to Public Speaking, Zack Braca 2rd place in Journalism, and Peyton lott 1st place in Public Speaking. It's a great day to be a Wildcat!!!
 - 5. On Thursday, March 22, CLS fifth grader Samuel Rodrigue was recognized as a New Haven County winner in the annual Connecticut Fire Prevention Poster Contest at a banquet at the U.S. Chowder Pot IV in Hartford. Sam is the first Seymour student to win this honor. Congratulations!
- B. Correspondence
 - 1. Letter dated March 6, 2018 to Mary Sue Feige, Principal of Bungay Elementary School from TEAM, Inc. thanking the school for participating as a drop off-site for the Toys 4 Kids Program.
- C. Media Coverage
 - 1. Wizard of Oz podcast
 - http://valley.newhavenindependent.org/archives/entry/seymour_high_schoolers_team_with_kindergartners_for_wizard_of_oz/
 - 2. Wizard of Oz Review https://patch.com/connecticut/naugatuck/review-wizard-oz-seymour-high-school
 - 3. School Walkout
 - http://valley.newhavenindependent.org/archives/entry/valley_students_plan_events_to_mark_florida_school_shooting/
 - 4. Seymour School Safety https://www.nhregister.com/news/article/Seymour-to-host-community-forum-on-school-safety-12723613.php