COPY RECEIVED DATE: 6/12/19 TIME: 11:00fm TOWN CLERK'S OFFICE

Seymour Board of Education

SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

June 6, 2019 Central Office 6:30 pm

BOARD MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE:

Christopher Champagne

James Garofolo Kristen Harmeling

Jay Hatfield

Edward Hendricks

Peter Kubik Jennifer Magri Fred Stanek Ed Strumello

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE:

Michael Wilson, Superintendent of Schools

Lee-Ann Dauerty, Board Clerk

Megan Krushinski Jeff Mockler Julie Pinkusshon

Teacher

I. CALL TO ORDER

A. Pledge of Allegiance

Ms. Magri called the meeting to order with the Pledge of Allegiance at 6:36 p.m.

II. PUBLIC COMMENT

Megan Krushinski – thanked Kathleen Freimuth and Lauren Reid for the incredible job they did filling in for Bernadette Hamad while she was out of the school on the Philadelphia trip. They were able to get the cafeteria in order. They did a fantastic job.

III. DISCUSSION and POSSIBLE ACTION

A. Grievance

- *1. SEA claims violation of SEA collective bargaining agreement, including but not limited to, Article I, Section J and Article XIII, Section F1
- * It is anticipated that the asterisked items will be discussed in Executive Session from which the public will be excluded.

MOTION: (Mr. Strumello/sec., Mr. Champagne) move that the Board enter into executive session to discuss a grievance that involves a matter concerning the appointment, employment, performance, evaluation, health or dismissal of a public employee. The Board invites Michael Wilson, Jeffrey Mockler, and Meagan Krushinski and the teacher into the Executive Session.

SO VOTED

AFFIRMATIVE: Mr. Champagne, Mr. Garofolo, Ms. Harmeling, Mr. Hatfield, Dr. Hendricks, Mr. Kubik, Ms. Magri, Mr. Stanek, Mr. Strumello

Into Executive Session: 6:39 pm

Recess (Union and Teacher): 6:50 pm

Out of Executive Session: 9:19 pm

Returned: 6:54 pm

Recess (Union Reps): 7:53 pm Returned: 7:54 pm

The three Administration and four union people were excused at 8:36 pm so the Board could deliberate.

MOTION: (Mr. Garofolo/sec., Mr. Kubik) to deny the grievance

SO VOTED

AFFIRMATIVE: Mr. Garofolo, Ms. Harmeling, Dr. Hendricks, Mr. Kubik, Ms. Magri, Mr.

Strumello

 $(a,b) : A \to A \times A$

OPPOSED: Mr. Champagne, Mr. Hatfield, Mr. Stanek,

MOTION PASSES: 6-3

IV. PUBLIC COMMENT

None

V. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

MOTION: (Mr. Strumello/sec., Dr. Hendricks) to adjourn

AFFIRMATIVE: Mr. Champagne, Mr. Garofolo, Ms. Harmeling, Mr. Hatfield, Dr. Hendricks, Mr. Kubik, Ms.

Magri, Mr. Stanek, Mr. Strumello

MOTION PASSES: 9-0

The meeting adjourned at 9:21 pm

Submitted by: Lee-Ann Dauerty Board Clerk