Board of Selectmen Meeting Grange Hall December 3, 2014 Special Meeting Minutes

Selectmen Present: M. Walter; E. Lyman; E. Malavasi Also Present: E. Bailey; S. Weaver; R. Berryhill; T. Bourgoin; L. Branscombe; B. Buongiorne; D. Burak; D. Chesson; W. Cross; P. Dean; J. Dill; R. Dill; R. Gross; M. Halpin; C. Quinn; J. Roczniak; L. Stuhlman; K. Staehly; S. Wheeler; L. Zemienieski

1. First Selectman Walter called the Board of Selectmen's meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. and the attendees said the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion made by Mr. Walter, seconded by Mr. Malavasi, to approve the agenda as written. Unanimous aye.

2. Agriculture Commission Discussion: Mr. Walter advised that the Lower Connecticut River Valley Council of Governments (RiverCOG) is applying for a grant to conduct a Tourism Study and develop a marketing plan for the area. He noted that one of the items to be studied is agri-tourism. He then opened the floor for a discussion of the Agriculture Commission.

Mr. Malavasi stated that he still has questions/concerns about the resignation of virtually all of the previous Agriculture Commissioners. In response, several of the previous Agriculture Commissioners attending the meeting advised that a very contentious climate had developed among some of the Agriculture Commissioners and it had become impossible to accomplish any productive work at the meetings. There was a general discussion regarding the availability of the video tape of the July 31, 2014 Agriculture Commission meeting. Ms. Halprin, the former secretary of the Agriculture Commission, advised that she had not received a copy of the video tape and Mr. Walter stated he would request a copy of the tape from former chairman Mr. Mackinnon.

In response to a question raised by Ms. Dill, Mr. Walter advised that he is waiting for a recommendation from the Friends of Harris on next steps for the Community Center for Agriculture (CCA) project. He further noted that the Town has received a one-year extension on the federal grant for the CCA and he is working on appropriate modifications.

Mr. Walter invited the individuals present who had submitted an application for the new Agriculture Commission to provide their background information and reasons for wanting to join the Commission. Ms. Halprin, Ms. Quinn, Mr. Burak, Ms. Bailey, Ms. Branscombe; Ms. Bourgoin, Ms. Buongiorne, Mr. Staehly, Mr. Gross, Mr. Dean and Ms. Stuhlman spoke about their backgrounds and interest in joining the Ag Commission. Ms. Zemienieski advised that Sue Costomiris had informed her that she will be withdrawing her application.

3. Public Comment: There was no additional public comment at the meeting.

4. Adjournment: There being no additional business to discuss, a motion was made by Mr. Walter, seconded by Mr. Malavasi, to adjourn the meeting at 6:55 p.m. Unanimous aye.

Recorded

Respectfully submitted,

Emmett Lyman, Secretary