Board of Selectmen Meeting Town Hall December 23, 2014 Special Meeting Minutes

Selectmen Present: M. Walter; E. Lyman; E. Malavasi Also Present: E. Lunt; R. Toolan; M. Neudecker; G. Neudecker; B. Sweet; J. Shugrue; J. Shea; L. Zemienieski

1. First Selectman Walter called the Board of Selectmen's meeting to order at 4:30 p.m. and the attendees said the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion made by Mr. Walter, seconded by Mr. Lyman, to approve the agenda as written. Unanimous aye.

2. Request for Leave of Absence: The board discussed the request for leave of absence from George Neudecker. It was noted that per the Public Works contract this request required a Board of Selectmen action. The board can approve up to a one year leave of absence without pay. Mr. Walter recommended a one month time frame and reassessing upon the next evaluation of his physician.

Mr. Neudecker explained his situation to the board and his reasons for the request for leave of absence.

Motion made by Mr. Walter, seconded by Mr. Lyman, to approve a leave of absence without pay for a period of one month from January 1, 2015 to February 1, 2015 for George Neudecker. Unanimous aye.

3. Agriculture Commission Discussion: Mr. Walter noted that the board has had time to review the applications and hear from the applicants for the Agriculture Commission and asked the board if they were ready to vote on their selections. The board discussed their top selections for Commission members. It was noted the 4 regular and 3 alternate members were needed to fill various terms on the commission.

Motion made by Mr. Walter, seconded by Mr. Lyman, to appoint Ronald Gross and Kevin Staehly as regular members to fill vacant positions with terms to expire January 1, 2018 and Carleen Quinn and Marianne Halpin as regular members to fill vacant positions with terms to expire January 1, 2016 on the Agriculture Commission. Unanimous aye.

Motion made by Mr. Walter, seconded by Mr. Malavasi, to appoint Peter Dean as an alternate member to fill a vacant position with a term to expire January 1, 2017 and Dennie Burak and Roxanne Berryhill as alternate members to fill vacant positions with terms to expire January 1, 2016 on the Agriculture Commission. Unanimous aye.

The Board noted that there was no provision in the ordinance for the Commission to select a chairman therefore the Board of Selectman will appoint one.

Motion made by Mr. Walter, seconded by Mr. Malavasi, to appoint Ronald Gross as Chairman of the Agriculture Commission. Mr. Malavasi noted that he was also thinking of Kevin Staehly as another option for Chairman. The Board discussed both options and decided to ask Ronald Gross first and if he does not elect to be chairman to offer this position to Kevin Staehly. Unanimous aye.

Mr. Lyman noted for the record that as liaison to the Agriculture Commission he did not attend enough meetings to understand what happened with the previous commission. He added that he will be more active with this commission in the future and wished to be notified of their meetings and be included on the distribution list for agendas and minutes.

- 4. Public Comment: There was no public comment at the meeting.
- 5. Adjournment: There being no additional business to discuss, a motion was made by Mr. Walter, seconded by Mr. Malavasi, to adjourn the meeting at 4:55 p.m. Unanimous aye.

Recorded

Respectfully submitted,

Emmett Lyman, Secretary