AGRICULTURE COMMISSION MINUTES (not yet approved) Monday, March 2, 2015

Town Office Annex 7:00 P.M

1. Call to Order: Ron Gross, Chairman, 7:03 pm Pledge of Allegiance

2. Attendance: Present: Ron Gross, Chairman; Dennie Burak; Marianne Halpin, Secretary; (Peter Dean, Carleen Quinn, by conference phone) Absent: Kevin Staehly, Linda Stuhlman, Roxanne Berryhill

3. Approval of Minutes: None

4. Chairman's Report

- **A.** Members were introduced
- B. Chair confirmed: Ron Gross
- C. Secretary confirmed: Marianne Halpin
- **D.** Explanation of Process

Chairman Gross expressed his appreciation of the Commission members. Meetings will be conducted in a professional, fair, and orderly manner. Decisions will be made by the group. Chairman Gross expects meetings to last approximately 60 minutes.

5. Correspondence

Chairman Gross read Linda Stuhlman's, Roxanne Berryhill's, and Dennie Burak's letters of resignation.

6. Unfinished Business--None

7. New Business

A. Reviewed Goals for Commission

Update the database of East Haddam Agriculture. Dennie Burak volunteered to contact Jess Stone, former member of the Agriculture Commission, for the database.

Publicize Agriculture Commission purpose and announce meetings as open to the public to discuss agriculture.

Have presence at all public events such as A Taste of East Haddam, Farmers' Market, etc. to provide information.

B. Reviewed Handout Material

All members received information packet and will re-read the Mission Statement.

Dennie Burak submitted informational notices of conferences, agriculture grants, and public hearings advertised through the Connecticut Farm Bureau and The Agvocate Program (CT Department of Agriculture).

C. Harris Property Discussion

Chairman Gross will contact Selectman's Office for information and updates.

D. General Discussion

Peter Dean suggested that the Agriculture Commission needs to focus on education.

Commission members will bring suggestions for educational events and publicity.

Marianne Halpin suggested looking toward encouraging farm tours in town.

E. 2015 Meeting Schedule

First Monday of each month at 7 pm at the Town Office Annex

F. Other

Three new Agriculture Commission members need to be determined.

8. Audience of Citizens: Eric Burak

Adjournment: Dennie Burak moved to adjourn. 7:58

Respectfully submitted,

Marianne Halpin, Secretary

Attachments:

- 3 letters of resignation
- 7 Announcements