AGRICULTURE COMMISSION MINUTES (APPROVED)

Town Office Annex April 3, 2017 7:00 P.M

1. Call to Order: Ron Gross, Chair: 7:03 pm Pledge of Allegiance

2. Attendance:

Members Present: Ron Gross, Chair; Marianne Halpin; Tanya Bourgoin, Mark Henderson; Kevin Staehly; Peter Dean (via iPhone)

<u>Guests:</u> Emmett Lyman, First Selectman; Aaron Taylor, Four Root Farm Alternate member Ms. Bourgoin seated in place of regular member Ms. Quinn.

3. Approval of Minutes:

Mr. Staehly made a motion to approve the minutes of the March 6, 2017 minutes. Ms. Halpin seconded the motion. Motion was withdrawn.

a). Discussion of amending minutes regarding the executive session. Mr. Staehly made a motion to postpone approval of those minutes until the next meeting. Mr. Henderson seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

4. Chairman's Report:

see below

5. Correspondence:

a) Middle School Garden Update:

Post holes will be dug by the town Public Works soon. Mr. Gross will purchase the posts at a discounted rate from Shagbark and donate them to the project. An effort will be made to engage the students involved with the commission.

c) Mr. Gross will try to attend this meeting and report back to the commission.

6. Unfinished Business/Open Issues:

- a). tabled until Mr. Ventres June meeting
- b). Ms. Bourgoin will inquire at town hall about Community Garden lease holder info and subcommittee rules re: FOI. We may staff a table at Shagbark's Chick Day event to gauge community interest in a gardening workshop.

7. New Business:

a). Community Garden update:

Several people have already leased plots for 2017. 2 more water storage cubes will be filled by the fire department. Mr. Lyman got an estimate of \$11,000 for the drilling and installation of a well with storage tanks and a pump.

b). Comer Event at the Harris Property will take place September of this year and help to highlight the Community Garden.

8. Adjournment: Time 7:50 pm

Ms. Halpin made the motion to adjourn. Mr. Staehly seconded. The next meeting of the Agriculture will be held at: May 1, 2017

Respectfully submitted, Tanya Bourgoin, Acting Secretary